Work on the salmon project for the California RiceCommission, Monday, February 6, 2023.

Who We Are

With sup­port from a diverse group of fund­ing orga­ni­za­tions, the Cal­i­for­nia Rice Com­mis­sion is lead­ing an effort to con­duct the nec­es­sary sci­ence and field test­ing to strate­gi­cal­ly man­age rice fields locat­ed with­in flood bypass areas to pro­vide opti­mal habi­tat ben­e­fits to the four runs of Chi­nook Salmon that are depen­dent upon the Sacra­men­to Val­ley water­shed.  We are specif­i­cal­ly tar­get­ing the nat­ur­al-ori­gin or “wild” salmon that voli­tion­al­ly access the flood­plain when the Sacra­men­to Riv­er spills into the flood­plain through weir oper­a­tions.  We have a par­tic­u­lar inter­est in help­ing spring-run and win­ter-run which are list­ed as threat­ened and endan­gered, respec­tive­ly.  The bulk of the sci­en­tif­ic field­work is being con­duct­ed by the UC Davis Cen­ter for Water­shed Sci­ences and is being fund­ed through an agree­ment between the Cal­i­for­nia Rice Com­mis­sion and the USDA’s Nat­ur­al Resources Con­ser­va­tion Ser­vice.  Crit­i­cal match­ing funds are being pro­vid­ed by a coali­tion of donors list­ed in the Spon­sors sec­tion of this web­site.

The Cal­i­for­nia Rice Com­mis­sion appre­ci­ates the col­lec­tive efforts of the state and fed­er­al resource agen­cies, researchers, con­ser­va­tion part­ners, donors and our grow­ers who are all ral­ly­ing togeth­er in this ambi­tious new ini­tia­tive to help salmon in the Sacra­men­to Val­ley.

Our Mission

The over­all mis­sion of the Cal­i­for­nia Rice Com­mis­sion, work­ing with its ded­i­cat­ed project part­ners, is to devel­op and imple­ment a proven annu­al man­age­ment prac­tice that will opti­mize habi­tat con­di­tions for nat­ur­al-ori­gin salmon access­ing rice fields locat­ed with­in the active flood­plain areas of the Sacra­men­to Val­ley. 

Meet the Team

Paul Buttner
Paul But­tner
Andrew L. Rypel, Ph.D.
Andrew L. Rypel, Ph.D.
Der­rick Alcott
Car­son Jef­fres
Alexan­dra Wampler
Peter Aron­son
Emi­ly Mench
Emi­ly Pat­ter­son
Steve Nead­er
Rachelle Tall­man
Jacob Mont­gomery
Mike DeWit
Mike DeWit
Scroll to Top